Book Review – Purify by Brian Robert Smith

b8bc3d8cda650e6d4dde02a2651843e3-d6hmgnx

Truely 2 Stars

2 butt

21424387

 Blurb: “There’s no use trying to escape. You’re miles from anywhere. You have no clothes, no food, no money… You’re dead, Mason.” As far as everyone else is concerned, Mason Bushing died over a year ago, but now he’s running from Dr. Harlow who is secretly conducting an unauthorized experiment for a drug he calls Purify. It saved Mason’s life, but Mason is focused on getting what he wants most-his old life back. His plans change when he realizes his wife is more interested in the insurance money she inherited than seeing him alive. His best friend doesn’t believe his story, and the police intend on charging him with fraud and assault after he almost kills his wife’s boyfriend. Warren is a detective who’s assigned the case. He’s been on personal leave because his wife died. His investigation turns up suspicions of lying, disturbing coincidences, and related homicides. When Mason becomes the prime suspect, he’s forced to run again. Imagine having to run from someone who saved your life. Imagine everyone thinking you’re dead, but you’re really alive. Questions, accusations, conspiracies… murder. What if this was all caused by a drug that’s creating the next physical evolution of man? What would you do if you were Purified?

 

If you had the choice, would you choose to live or die? But what if that choice came with a catch, if you chose to live, would you be able to spend it in captivity? Under the watchful eye of a crazy doctor? Purify is a drug that brings you back from the brink of death, but with a very heavy price indeed.

daisy_divider_2_by_16thsquadsanseki-d5iktep

I’m going to be honest, I had a love hate relationship with this book. I did struggle to pick it up at times and therefore it’s taken me a little time to finish. However, once i got to reading, it wasn’t too bad. I feel that my problem was that I just could not relate to any of the characters. I did also find them to be quite flat and uninteresting.

Mason escaped from the crazy laboratory and went on the run from Dr Harlow. Yet I find it hard to believe, that if your trying to escape someone, why would you just go home? Surely that would be the first place someone would look? I find it very difficult to get to grips with his motives throughout this story as well; I just didn’t find it very believable. I felt a lot of the time, there was a lot of talking but not much going on. I think I actually disliked all of the characters in the book, none of them were very nice people. It’s hard to explain but this thriller just really didn’t do anything for me, I am genuinely really sorry to say.

daisy_divider_2_by_16thsquadsanseki-d5iktep

I can say though, that the book is really well written, for a debut novel it was very good. I genuinely think we have great things to expect from this author and I look forward to reading anything new in future. It wasn’t bad, just not for me.

 

Another thing, I would rate this more as a horror then a thriller. I think the storyline got a little confused along the way and wandered into a different genre.

b8bc3d8cda650e6d4dde02a2651843e3-d6hmgnx

Would you like to get a copy of your own? Look no further!

Amazon.co.uk- Purified
Amazon.com- Purified
Goodreads- Purified

A debut novel by Brian Robert Smith.

Leave a comment